ūüď¨ Get the Newsletter: Weekly podcasts, 'History of the Band' articles, new music reviews & more

Podcast Episode
Album Review
Post Date

The Promise Ring

435 Nothing Feels Good by The Promise Ring

Nothing Feels Good

Jade Tree
Release year
J. Robbins

The Promise Ring twist and turn pop structures to unique results on their 1997 album Nothing Feels Good

Author & Special Guests

The 1997 album Nothing Feels Good by The Promise Ring lays at an interesting crossroad. On the one hand, vocalist Davey Von Bohlen can grind on a melodic hook like a power pop pro, giving the listener plenty of ear candy on this tightly constructed record, while backed by a tight and creative rhythm section that never looses the groove. On the other hand, there are enough jarring structures, repetitious lyrics and twin-guitar abrasiveness to keep the hardcore kids happy. With vet J. Robbins behind the board, they definitely add some muscle, but it's not the clean and beefy guitar sounds he would get out of Braid, or what Jimmy Ear World would accomplish with Clarity, leaving us slightly underwhelmed.

Coming soon

We haven't reviewed this record yet. However, you can compell us to grab our shovels and dig it out. Request a review and we'll devote a full episode to discussing this album. Heck we might even invite you on as a guest. Support the show and help rock fans discover a lost album of the 90's.

Patreon: $2.50 a month

Support us for the year (12 consecutive months), and you’ll be rewarded with an album review for 2017 that you can join us to talk about.

Visit Patreon

PayPal Donation: $30.00

This is the fastest option to get your recommendation on the show. Make a donation and put the artist and album title in the payment comments. We’ll follow up with any questions and let you know the episode release date.


Dig ME Out - 90s Rock review

Subscribe wherever you listen to podcasts

Listen on Apple Podcasts

Songs in this episode

  • Intro - Nothing Feels Good
  • 14:35 - Perfect Lines
  • 19:06 - Is This Thing On?
  • 20:56 - Raspberry Rush
  • Outro - Pink Chimneys

Follow us to know when this episode is available

We are a weekly podcast with new episodes published every Tuesday morning. Subscribe to the show in iTunes or your favorite podcast app to get new episode delivered to you. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter for episode releases, previews and 90's rock news.

View in iTunes
Social media


Spotify playlist for this episode

Nothing Feels Good